MOMENTS OF KAMCHATKA

HIDDEN TRAILS IN RUSSIAN WILDERNESS

Kamchatka is a peninsula in the Russian far east. It’s located in the Pacific Ocean north of Japan. It has a wild coastline with 160 volcanoes, 29 are active at the moment, rising from sea level up to 4.700 m. The capital of the peninsula is Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky. Until 1990 Kamchatka was a restricted military area that was closed to the public and especially for tourists.

Originally our crew around Patrick Rasche and Constantin Fiene travelled to the Russian wilderness in search for freeride lines for our new bike movie „Outlaw Diaries III“ last fall, but we had the feeling that we should bring a trailbike to the trip as well. We got in touch with a local called Alexei. He is one of the few guys that tries to bring mountain biking to this wild place and he arranged a stay at his place called the „Bayhouse“, located at the shore of the Pacific in the Avacha bay. The area has no mtb infrastructure at all, so the expectations to find some trails where not very high. But Alexei proofed us wrong. Check out what we found when we entered the endless birch forests along the wild coast.

There is no bike or trail infrastructure in eastern Siberia. But the trails that we found showed me the great potential that is hidden in this region. Rolling hills, wide open landscape and the volcanic dirt made riding in this place so special for me - Patrick Rasche

MomentsOfKamchatka_01.jpg
MomentsOfKamchatka_03.jpg

Client: VOTEC

Our Job: Idea and Creation

Potos: Constantin Fiene

Location: Kamchatka, Russia

MOMENTS OF KAMCHATKA

HIDDEN TRAILS IN RUSSIAN WILDERNESS

Kamchatka ist eine Halbinsel in Ost-Sibirien, gelegen an der russischen Pazifik Küste. An der wilden Küste sind 160 Vulkane verteilt, von denen 29 gerade aktiv sind. Die Hauptstadt der Halbinsel ist Petropawlowsk-Kamtschatski und die gesamte Region war bis 1990 militärisches Sperrgebiet.

Zusammen mit Patrick Rasche und Fotograf Constantin Fiene sind wir eigentlich in die russische Wildnis gereist, um den neuen Freeride Film Outlaw Diaries III zu drehen. Aber wir hatten die Idee auch ein Trailbike mit auf die Reise zu nehmen. Unterwegs haben wir Alexei kennengelernt. Er ist einer der wenigen Locals und versucht Mountainbiking in diese abgelegene Ecke Russlands zu bringen. Für drei Tage des Trips sind wir bei ihm im „Bayhouse“ am Rand von Petropawlowsk untergekommen und er hat uns die versteckten Trails in der Abacha Bucht gezeigt. Die Erwartungen waren nicht zu hoch, da es in der Region noch keine wirkliche Mountainbike Infrastruktur gibt. Doch Alexei wollte beweisen, was seine Heimat zu bieten hat. Der Film „Moments Of Kamchatka“ zeigt ein paar Impressionen von den versteckten Trails im russischen Osten! 

Es gibt eigentlich kein Trail Netzwerk in Ost-Sibirien. Aber die Trails die wir gefunden haben, haben mir gezeigt welches Potential diese Region bietet. Hügeliges, weitläufiges Gelände und die Vulkan-Erde haben die Abfahren so speziell gemacht. - Patrick Rasche
MomentsOfKamchatka_01.jpg
MomentsOfKamchatka_03.jpg

In Zusammenarbeit mit: VOTEC

Unser Job: Idee und  Umsetzung

Fotos: Constantin Fiene

Location: Kamtschatka, Russland